auckland

I spent four days in Auckland before I flew to Melbourne to meet up with Scott and his family. Auckland is a really nice city! I could see myself living there for a bit for sure.

It was a bit overwhelming to go from a small town on the west of Fiji (Namaka) to mass-consumerism and a city that has 1.5 times the number of people in the entirety of Fiji. I kept thinking that Auckland was really orderly and empty.. a big difference from crazy Suva!

As soon as I got off the airport shuttle, my friend Stef picked me up (I met her in the Yasawas) and she took me back to her house. Her house was having a moustache party that night and it was a lot of fun! (and cooooldddd) I got to see Kaula as well, Stef’s friend I also met in Fiji. I bought some wine at the duty free and it was lovely.

I planned to climb the next day at the local gym, but the trains weren’t running that weekend and I was a bit nervous about going into the boonies by bus with no map so I decided to explore Auckland instead and get some errand-y type things done. Rock climbing gyms are always in the weirdest areas. That evening I hung out with Stef and her flatmates and slept on their couch (thanks, Stef!).

Going to a grocery store was quite exciting.. hummus! grapes! strawberries! cashews! milk (urghh)!

The next day I checked into a backpacker place downtown and then met up with Sd (friend from USP) and we walked up Mt Eden (good views) and ate sushi (yum!). In the afternoon I headed to the Extreme Edge climbing gym. I was hoping to find a partner to climb with but couldn’t so I just bouldered. That was still okay with me! My muscles still hurt.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

On the last day, I left on an ultra early flight to Melbourne so I had to wake up at 3:20am to catch the shuttle. It was early!! I’m sorry dormmates.

2 thoughts on “auckland

    1. i think they wanted to preserve it because there were lots of planty things in it, it was pretty cool! lonely planet says it’s 50m deep but it didn’t look that deep

Leave a Reply

