melbourne pt1

A post I wrote on Thursday:

—–

Aussie Aussie Aussie! As a spur of the moment decision about a month ago I decided to fly to Australia when Scott would be there for his sister’s wedding (Jemma). We have been keeping busy, but we also have lots of down time and I am staying at his parents house so lots of Internet access.

The first day Scott showed me St Kilda and Chapel Street – two trendy streets. We ate at Ganache which was cool because Kat has been talking about it FOREVA, and we had lentil burgers at a non-profit cafe (maybe I should open some kind of business like that? hmm…) That evening I met most of the family at trivia night… I could help with the anagrams but otherwise my Aussie trivia was not up to snuff.

I tried Victoria Bitter….it is the exact same as Fiji Bitter! I thought I had escaped that stuff, hehe.

On Wednesday we went to the Healesville Sanctuary with Scott’s nephew Beau. We saw koalas, kangaroos, an echidna, snakes, turtles, lizards, emus, dingos, Tasmanian devils and a billion other animals. We concluded the day by eating the animals we saw during the day…is that a bad thing? Haha. The night market was busy and very trendy…and had a billion awesome food stalls.

Thursday was very relaxed…. Tim Tams, board games and visiting with everyone. Not too shabby! Melbourne has been good so far – it’s real nice having a tour guide (thanks Scott)… It is a nice city and I can see bits why Kat liked it…would be better if she was here though. Sometime this will happen…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

Leave a Reply

