milford sound

Going to Milford Sound was very nice, yet very touristy. The first day I hiked the Key Summit track (part of the Routeburn)… hello switchbacks. I would like to do the full Routeburn sometime. I also visited Marion Lake falls and swam in the river. It was very refreshing. I have learned that refreshing is an optimistic way of saying pretty freaking cold.

On the way to Milford Sound

On the way to Milford Sound

nz-17 nz-22

Key Summit Track

Key Summit Track

Key Summit Track

Key Summit Track

Key Summit Track

Key Summit Track

nz-23 nz-24 nz-25 nz-27

 

Fiordland actually has some of New Zealand’s best climbing, but I couldn’t find someone to go with within the time I wanted to go. By this point I felt like I was running out of time! Even though I had about a month left.

I had pretty amazing weather in Fiordland, usually Milford Sound gets 681 cm of rain per year! Suva gets 297 cm. Vancouver gets 119 cm.

 

Leave a Reply

