the rest of wanaka

I spent a lot of time in Wanaka and had a GREAT time in Wanaka. I feel like it needs one more post – possibly a clean-up post. After I led that 19 and did tons of happy dances, I had still four days of free stay at the hostel. I was getting quite a reputation for saying I was leaving the next day but then not leaving. I really liked Wanaka!!

I worked one day at a berry job, but it (as I mentioned before) really sucked. The bushes were maybe 1/4 of the size of the other farm I worked at, and they were all moldy. I really am not sure why we were picking them because they were even too moldy for jam or juice. Even though they paid twice as much per kg, you still made less money.

I met a great group of people from France/Germany and spent a couple nights with them at the closest bar (they recognized me! I am a local! hehe)

I worked at a 5-star hotel (second best hotel in the South Island) for a weekend doing housekeeping. On the first day they said I was really good at making the beds, which I was surprised about. It wasn’t really my jam though.

In my last four days of Wanaka, I jammed in some indoor climbing, two more 19s, a hike up the hill in town (Mt Iron), watched Challenge Wanaka (a triathlon where the athletes do a billion km swimming, a bajillion km biking and then a marathon), got my hair cut by the other girl who worked at the hostel and happily wobbled up a route called “Happy Fat Man” (my favourite kind of climbing, technical and small holds). I was getting quite itchy to leave, decided it would be a good idea to lay off my twisted ankle for a bit (of course from walking back from the crag, not actually from climbing), and decided I did enough flailing falls for Wanaka’s eyes, and found a fellow Canadian traveller, so decided to head South the following day.

Here are some various pictures:

There was one spot where you can see about 10 crags in Wanaka.. it was my favourite place to be. Here is about 5 of them. Pia's picture

There was one spot where you can see about 10 crags in Wanaka.. it was my favourite place to be. Here is about 5 of them. Pia’s picture

climbing on the "Tombstone". Pia's photo

climbing on the “Tombstone”. Pia’s photo

climbing at Riverside. Pia's photo

climbing at Riverside. Pia’s photo

climbing at Bakehouse. Lance's photo

climbing at Bakehouse. Lance’s photo

walking the walk to Diamond Lake. Lance's photo

walking the walk to Diamond Lake. Lance’s photo

Einstein!!

Einstein!! (from the side, see picture below)

best craft project ever. i want to make this

best craft project ever. i want to make this

view from hostel

view from hostel

view from Mt Iron of Lake Wanaka

view from Mt Iron of Lake Wanaka

view from Mt Iron

view from Mt Iron

me on Mt Iron

me on Mt Iron

Wanaka was an amazing place… I think top of my list of the entire South Island. I reeeeally liked it there.

Leave a Reply

