shark dive or not to shark dive?

Shark dive or not to shark dive? That is the question.

I have been hearing this line since before I got to Fiji: You’re going to Fiji? You’re in Fiji? You HAVE to dive. Especially the shark dive. My usual response was: Um. Sharks eat people. That’s scary. I made an oath not to do a cage dive because those sharks are SERIOUSLY trying to eat you. But they don’t have cage dives in Fiji – just open dives.

http://fijisharkdive.com/diving/shark-diving/the-shark-dive

I had a few friends do the shark dive recently, and now I keep thinking about it more and more. Is it worth the money? Is it worth doing and supporting a cause I do not like? (The sharks are attracted because the divemasters feed them. I am a strong believer that animals should be left as is.)

I’ve already high fived a shark, and that was one of my silly Fiji goals before I got here.

Thoughts?

One thought on “shark dive or not to shark dive?

Leave a Reply

