marine biology field trip

The last 3 days that Dad and Kate were here coincided with my field trip for my Marine Biology class. We always joked that they could stay at the same place as the class did, and it turned out they did! We stayed at Tubakula Bungalows along the Coral Coast (south of main island, Viti Levu).

My Marine Biology class is a great group of people. Most of the people on my trip are in my lab on Fridays, which is the smaller lab. Everyone is incredibly friendly.

The first day we snorkelled just outside the resort and laid a transect to examine substrate (where the tape lay), invertebrates and fish. It had really high sedimentation there (so, cloudy) and not super nice (partly because of the river run-off nearby). The second day we went to a marine protected area down the road near a village called Votua and did the same thing. It was much better though, but a lot harder to do the transect because there was more coral there.

part of my group
part of my group

I didn’t see anything spectacular but the marine protected area did have quite a large number of fish! I was surprised. (Marine protected area means that visitors are regulated along with fishing rights and researchers)

Luckily I sent some pictures to my group mates before the break-in so I have some itty bitty pictures to share.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

baby parrotfish, so cuuute
baby parrotfish, so cuuute

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

butterflyfish (vagabond)
butterflyfish (vagabond)
crown of thorns starfish
crown of thorns starfish
HELLO FISHY
HELLO FISHY

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

damselfish
damselfish
angelfish
angelfish

The rest of the field trip I hung out and met my classmates which was great. We drank grog, cooked food, hung out on the beach, had a big bonfire, played in the pool and generally just laughed and laughed and laughed. I don’t think Dad and Kate appreciated being woken up by my classmates swimming at 5 in the morning, but I guess they’ve had lots of training.

We had a lot of downtime too and one afternoon, the three of us went to the Kila Bird Park and saw iguanas, peacocks, boas, owls, parrots and lots of other living things. I didn’t like holding the iguana.

All in all, it was a fantastic field trip and I can’t believe it counts as part of school credit! I had an amazing time and it would definitely count in my top 5 Fiji experiences.

One thought on “marine biology field trip

Leave a Reply

