2013 & 2014

A lot was done in 2013! It was an amazing year filled with new friends, old friends, travelling, climbing, new adventures, learning and lots of food experimentation.

I think it is also my fittest year yet. Even counting my lazy days in Fiji where I used the heat as an excuse not to exercise, I feel like I’ve gotten stronger and improved my cardio (slightly). A big moment was when I did my first pull-up!

I lived in many places: Wanaka, Christchurch, Suva, Christchurch (again), Vancouver!

I worked in many places: Mountain View Backpackers, Lakeside Hotel, Ernst & Young, Hume Doors & Timber, Vancouver Cliffhanger, Pacific Community Resources Society and 2 day-long jobs.

And I tried many new adventure activities: backcountry skiing, traditional climbing, backpacking, scuba diving, surfing, caving, outdoor bouldering, ridge walking, paragliding and participated in my first bouldering competition.

I am lucky to have had such a good year.

My most challenging goal for 2014 will be to climb the Chief in Squamish. I want to be able to switch leads, and not just follow. My other goals are a bit smaller, but numerous (Kat says they are boring): climb at least once a week, concentrate on my studies, climb at Smith Rock (Oregon), go to the US, venture farther east in BC, get a promotion at the climbing gym, volunteer once a week for at least 3 months, outdoor lead a 5.10d, get hired as a TA, win a scholarship, get a good co-op job and eat more naturally (I’m thinking once a week I am going to try to not eat anything that is made with prepared ingredients – but not sure if this is the best strategy).

Oh! And finish up/make a Fiji/NZ travel journal.

Leave a Reply

