whistler day 6 & 7

WHISTLER-0Day 6: (run of the day: Blackcomb Glacier)

The day before school re-started I managed to convince Kat that she should go watch the skeleton races going on so I could also go skiing (hehe). The day was pretty mediocre – some of the iciest skiing I have EVER been on. I decided that I was going to try skiing down the Blackcomb Glacier this day. It’s at the top of all the Blackcomb lifts and in-bounds, but you have to do a short 3 minute walk up the hill with your skis off to get to it. Because of my intensive ski-walking training in NZ, it was no problem (pant pant). It wasn’t the greatest conditions but I could see that on a powder day, it would be amazing!! I cut the day short because I wanted to get home to finish unpacking and because every muscle in my body hurts. Climbing and skiing are super duper tiring. My hips, ankle and fingers especially.

WHISTLER-1Day 7: (run of the day: Chunky’s Trees with Lisa & Phillip)

A few of us went up to celebrate Lisa’s 22nd birthday and it was INCREDIBLE!! In 24 hours, Whistler got 63 cm of powder and it was amazing!!!! The lines were absolutely massive (the line for the Creekside gondola went all the way over the bridge to the Starbucks), and stayed huge all day as not much of the mountain was open but it was all really worth it. We did a day of tree skiing and we all felt the thigh-burn of powder skiing. I love skiing with other people because you get to try so much more terrain and go places you haven’t been.

I’ve been finding it tricky to take good photos. I always find an excuse not to bring my camera (won’t fit in my pocket, will get wet, etc) and then don’t even take pictures (snowing too hard and it’ll get damp, my hands are too cold, having too much fun). Not sure if my pictures will improve or not.

Leave a Reply

